Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Avidyne General > IFD 5 Series & IFD 4 Series Touch Screen GPS/NAV/COM
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - IFD Software Release 10.2.0.0
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

IFD Software Release 10.2.0.0

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 131415
Author
Message
 Rating: Topic Rating: 1 Votes, Average 5.00  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
oskrypuch View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2012
Location: CYFD
Status: Offline
Points: 1960
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oskrypuch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2017 at 10:34pm
Originally posted by ac11 ac11 wrote:

Hi GMSutton,

I was one of those units. This is what they mean by bricking. Right now, only the factory can fix the issue....

Well, speak of the devil. Avidyne now reportedly has a field procedure that will unbrick the odd unit that has a problem updating to 10.2. You need unique, but largely unpredictable combinations of hardware mods for this to happen. 

IAC, this is information from Christine, the Master Guru at Avidyne, seems like good news all around. It just means booting with a specific file on an inserted USB stick.

* Orest



Edited by oskrypuch - 23 May 2017 at 12:33am
Back to Top
Kentwkalb View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31 Dec 2015
Location: KFGX
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kentwkalb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 2017 at 12:18am
Good news Orest! Have my 10.2 upgrade scheduled June 2. Shop quoted 2 hours for install time charges, only labor.
Back to Top
Thinwing View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Dec 2016
Location: Ksac
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thinwing Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2017 at 4:14pm
Attention I have just become aware of a serious software compatibility with 10.2 and Garmin g500I recommend not installing 10.2 if you have g500 !I am currently attempting to find out about removing 10.2 from my Avadynes to restore g500 ahrs function..thinning
Back to Top
AviSimpson View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Location: Lincoln, MA
Status: Offline
Points: 682
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AviSimpson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2017 at 4:36pm
We are investigating this as well at the moment. We are narrowing down what software levels of the G500 and the IFD 10.2 cause this issue. We will have further/official guidance on this shortly.

Rolling the IFD release back to 10.1.3 will not solve the issue. This was one of the first troubleshooting steps we took. This appears to relate to the software level of the G500 and how it interacts with the IFD.
Simpson Bennett
Avidyne Corporation
Product Manager
Back to Top
OliverBucher View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Dec 2016
Location: Germany EDDS
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote OliverBucher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2017 at 4:58pm
Hello AviSimson,
please have a look at the topic "new-540-install-issues"
I have also problems with the G500 SW 7.12 and a IFD540/440 combo with 10.2.
Also I have problems with the GPS Positioning when flying circles.
I now also a guy with a PA28R with the same problems. When I training Steep Turms for the IR- Rating with my students, this is a common issue, cause you must learn 45' bank turns.
Greetings
Oliver
Oliver Bucher
Plane: DA40-180
Back to Top
AviSimpson View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Location: Lincoln, MA
Status: Offline
Points: 682
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AviSimpson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2017 at 5:03pm
Thank you for reporting it. Did you make our Tech Support team aware as well. That is key for issues like this and allows us to faster identify trends in issues.
Simpson Bennett
Avidyne Corporation
Product Manager
Back to Top
OliverBucher View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Dec 2016
Location: Germany EDDS
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote OliverBucher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2017 at 5:16pm
My installer Flugzeugwerft Möller in Bonn-Hangelar has send your Support the log-files. They said that everything is OK, and the wings will shadow the GPS antennas.
But on a DA40 are the antennas on the roof, and it's a low wing plane. Therefore I can't believe this. A DA40 is also a GFK (Glas Fibre) plane (no Metall or carbon fibre)
We don't talk with the support about the G500 issues, cause we taught it was a calibration problem or internal G500 AHARS problem.
I can sent you also the log files and a video via Dropbox.

Greetings Oliver
Oliver Bucher
Plane: DA40-180
Back to Top
chflyer View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Location: LSZK
Status: Offline
Points: 431
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chflyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2017 at 10:40am
Any news about when 10.2.1.0 (or 10.2.0.1?) will be available to fix the issues with wpts and routes disappearing? Waiting on that before upgrading to 10.2.

I'm on the email list for such announcements, but haven't received anything yet.

Vince
Back to Top
MysticCobra View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MysticCobra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2017 at 2:27pm
Originally posted by chflyer chflyer wrote:

Waiting on that before upgrading to 10.2.
Me, too.  My avionics shop is not easy to get to (or to get an appointment with), so while I'd like to get the benefits of 10.2, I'm reluctant to do it knowing there's another update coming "soon".
Back to Top
ddgates View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Location: Deer Valley
Status: Offline
Points: 838
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ddgates Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2017 at 3:24pm
Just a guess and I'm sure that Simpson will address this.

I would personally suspect that 10.2 is such a big (and for some maybe perilous) effort, if/when 10.2.1 comes out, you might have to get to 10.2 first.

Just a guess.
David Gates
Back to Top
chflyer View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Location: LSZK
Status: Offline
Points: 431
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chflyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2017 at 4:45pm
Perhaps, but in any case, I won't install 10.2 as long as it loses wpts & routes. If a 2-step upgrade is needed, so be it.

Edited by chflyer - 09 Jul 2017 at 4:46pm
Vince
Back to Top
AviSimpson View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Location: Lincoln, MA
Status: Offline
Points: 682
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AviSimpson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2017 at 5:11pm
Yes, you will have to update to 10.2 before you update to the next release. You could do a 10.2 and then a 10.2.1 or 10.3 update in the same dealer visit if that's what the user prefers.

With that said, there will be a 10.2.1, which is already being worked on. I won't speculate timeframe at the moment. It will be predominately a bug fix release with many of the issues mentioned on the forum and the field reports addressed.


Edited by AviSimpson - 11 Jul 2017 at 5:12pm
Simpson Bennett
Avidyne Corporation
Product Manager
Back to Top
ugusko View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2017
Location: Hamburg
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ugusko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2017 at 2:27am
Originally posted by AviJake AviJake wrote:

Originally posted by chflyer chflyer wrote:

 
Originally posted by AviJake AviJake wrote:

2.   .   2. Added support for European VFR Visual Approach, Landing and Area Charts – this is a new chart option in the chart list for those customers who have elected to add that capability to their Jepp subscription.

3.     

        A couple question related to this point in the list ... 

        1) These VFR charts contain many VRP's (Visual Reporting Points, nearly 700 in Italy alone), which up to now have not been in the Jepp navdata and therefore couldn't be added to flight plans. Does this mean that the Jepp navdata will also now include them? I expect that the answer here is NO, but hoping for a YES.

        2) Are these charts supported and can they be loaded into the IFD concurrently with the existing, IFR charts? I expect that the answer here is YES.





1.  I don't think so but let me double check with Jepp.
2.  Yes.


Can you please explain how it works to get the VRP into IFR Data ? 



Back to Top
chflyer View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Location: LSZK
Status: Offline
Points: 431
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chflyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2017 at 6:55am
The Jepp-delivered IFD navdata (IFR or VFR subscriptions) doesn't include the VRP's, and I don't expect this to change.

If you want the VRP's available on the IFD, then you need to add them manually as user waypoints, per the IFD user guide. 

One of the challenges (for Jepp & us) is that there is no standard naming convention for these VRP's, and each country seems to take its own approach. Many are simply N, S, E, W, N1, N2, etc or the long name November, Sierra, Echo, Whiskey, Bravo, Delta, Oscar, etc. That is of course not unique, so you need to make up your own naming convention. I use the last 2 letters of the airfield ICAO code followed by the VRP name. E.g. NYO for Friedrichshafen (EDNY) Oscar. I have 100's of these now and have not yet had a conflict..... fingers crossed.

Some countries have long (geographic) names for VRP's, such as JURAGIAI for Kaunas EYKS in Luthuania or VISSENBJERG for Odense EKOD in Denmark. In that case, you just need to be inventive. For these situations where the method above doesn't work, I just shorten the name to 5 characters which is in line with the IFR waypoint naming convention. Some countries already use the IFR WPT convention, which makes the USER WPT creation very easy. It would be nice if all countries used this approach, but ... :-(

I wouldn't create any more new USER WPT than really needed ... i.e. for the next flight. Once created, they are available for future use. But the problem is that Avidyne doesn't provide any way to transfer these across to new software versions, so they all need to be re-entered by hand (such as 10.1 to 10.2).

The best hope for the future is perhaps that ForeFlight will be able to sync USER WPT with the IFD as well as flight plans. You can maintain USER WPT in FF quite easily with a CSV file. That would solve the issue of maintaining them in the IFD across software version changes. I've made this request to FF, so we'll see what happens.


Vince
Back to Top
ugusko View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2017
Location: Hamburg
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ugusko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 3:08am
Hi Vince,

thanks for your detailed reply. 

I found a Document from 04.11.2011 ( http://ww1.jeppesen.com/documents/aviation/notices-alerts/navdata/VFR_Reporting_Points.pdf ) where Jeppesen declares that is possible to get the VFR Reporting Points within the Navdata (just declared as "Enroute Waypoints")



Uwe



Edited by ugusko - 11 Aug 2017 at 3:09am
Back to Top
chflyer View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Location: LSZK
Status: Offline
Points: 431
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chflyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 4:39am
Indeed, and since Jepp indicates:

"NavData Notices are intended for Jeppesen's Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) Customers only. End Users of the data may contact their Avionics Providers with questions on the availability of data in their specific units."

we should certainly ask Avidyne if/when they plan to ask Jeppesen to supply these as part of the navdata.

There are 2 IFD navdata subs for Europe, IFR and VFR. Jepp provided me with a one-off VFR navdata cycle a year ago to evaluate and it just seemed to be IFR navdata without the IFR stuff - approaches, departures, etc. I couldn't find the VFR WP which is what I was actually expecting to see.... but I didn't spend hours looking for them. They ARE present in the JV mobileFD Central Europe VFR coverage today.

Simpson,

Does Avidyne plan to request Jepp to include the VFR WP in the IFD navdata per the quote above? I would expect these to also be in the Central Europe IFR navdata, since a) IFR pilots also fly VFR and b) there is much more use of Y/Z flight plans in Europe with VFR departures or arrivals associated with an otherwise IFR flight.




Edited by chflyer - 11 Aug 2017 at 5:31am
Vince
Back to Top
AviSimpson View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Location: Lincoln, MA
Status: Offline
Points: 682
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AviSimpson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 4:35pm

VFR Waypoints (a.k.a VRPs) have been in the navigation database since 10.2 was released.  Unfortunately, there is no reasonable way for the user to know what the identifiers of those waypoints are.  That's because they tend to have identifiers that bear no resemblance to the names you might see on a chart.  For instance, the waypoint JURAGIAI from you original post that was referenced at EYKS is in the database with an identifier of "VP006".  In a future release, however, we plan to introduce a map layer that will show VRPs.  At that point, you'll be able to easily make the correlation between the database identifier and the common name that you're used to.
 
In the meantime, however, we have an Excel workbook (saved as a PDF and titled "VFR Waypoints") that you can use to make the correlation.  That workbook is posted on the Avidyne website in the IFD download section, http://www.avidyne.com/support/downloads.asp?prod=ifd, We've also posted a KML file there as well.  If you import the KML file into Google Earth, you can zoom in on an airport and quickly see the VRPs in the vicinity.



Edited by AviSimpson - 15 Aug 2017 at 4:59pm
Simpson Bennett
Avidyne Corporation
Product Manager
Back to Top
AzAv8r View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2011
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Points: 122
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AzAv8r Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 10:57pm
Thanks. 

I'd found the VRPs that I entered into the IFD were included in the database and I did not need the cheat-sheet.  It appears from the file that this is common, at least in the US.

Since the file is a PDF, I'd suggest you repeat the column headers on each page.

(note to other users:  the PDF is very close to the top of the long list of files available at the above link.  But the KML file is almost at the bottom.)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 131415
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.