Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Avidyne General > AXP340/322 ADS-B Transponder
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ADS-B Out setup
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

ADS-B Out setup

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
cavu View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: KRME
Status: Offline
Points: 73
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cavu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ADS-B Out setup
    Posted: 28 Jun 2016 at 11:21am

I was just informed about something that many may not be aware. 

If you are using a portable ADS-B IN solution, such as Foreflight, you need to be sure that the transponder is set to ADS-B IN "active" even though you do not have a certified ADS-B IN product.  If you do not have a certified ADS-B IN box and your avionics installer sets the AXP340 to be ADS-B OUT only, the ADS-B ground receiver will not respond with a customized TIS-B traffic broadcast to you.  This setting is communicated to the ADS-B ground station and it thinks you have NO ADS-B solution so why bother sending the traffic packet.  You will only see traffic that are being reported to other close-by  ADS-B Out aircraft.

Back to Top
DavidBunin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 May 2015
Location: Rockwall, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 717
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidBunin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jul 2016 at 7:38pm
It is slightly more complicated than that.  There isn't just one ADS-B In "active" bit in the configuration, there are two of them.  You ADS-B Out device (whatever it may be) should accurately advertise your In receiving capability.  It should let the system know if you can receive 1090 and if you can receive UAT (978).  Or both, or neither.

The system doesn't care if you receive by installed (certified) equipment or portable equipment.

This is true for any ADS-B Out solution, not just the AXP340.

David Bunin
Back to Top
cavu View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: KRME
Status: Offline
Points: 73
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cavu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2016 at 8:56pm
Can you tell me where to check these settings.  I don't think their set correctly.
Back to Top
DavidBunin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 May 2015
Location: Rockwall, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 717
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidBunin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2016 at 5:56pm
In the AXP340, or some other piece of equipment?

I just downloaded the installation manual for the AXP340 (I found a rev 00 copy).  The ADS-B Receiver options settings are on page 34 in section 7.5.13

http://www.avidyne.com/files/downloads/600-00308-000.pdf

David Bunin
Back to Top
MarkZ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 Sep 2015
Location: 0TX0
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MarkZ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2016 at 8:14pm
I had my AXP 340 settings all messed up. TJ Sutton walked me through it and I'm now squawking loud and clear. These guys are class acts!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.