Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Avidyne General > IFD 5 Series & IFD 4 Series Touch Screen GPS/NAV/COM
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Garmin G5 and IFD 540
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Garmin G5 and IFD 540

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message
compasst View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 22 Feb 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 69
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote compasst Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2017 at 12:00pm
Originally posted by Gring Gring wrote:

Quote I don’t yet have an auto pilot in my cardinal, but find my accuracy in flying has improved to less than 1/10 of a mile and less than 50 feet over several hours. This is totally because of the G5’s.

Can you explain this a little?  Improved over what?  DG and CDI?  Analog HSI?

I can tell you that my experience with the G5 is that the presentation (ie compass card) is significantly smaller than a King or Century HSI and harder to read.

Understanding that my experience is subjective, I find that hand flying the G5's that replaced the Cessna OEM AI and DG (no heading bug) is much easier - and results in the stated accuracy where my previous experience was easily drifting off course by several tenths of a mile and off altitude by a couple hundred feet on long cross-country flights. 

I fly a variety of aircraft that have any number of flight instrument types in them. I prefer hand flying to autopilot flying, and therefore have plenty of experience with all manner of presentations, including HSI's from a variety of manufacturers and electronic instrumentation from Aspen, Garmin, and Avidyne and others. Frankly, I find the G5 easy to read and very easy to interpret, therefore making it easier for me to hand fly. There are several pieces of data that are displayed on both instruments which helps significantly with scan. The HSI can be changed to be an EFIS if something happens to the G5 acting as EFIS.

To me, the Aspen display is not as easy to read or interpret, let alone the very frequent incidence of partial and total failures that I've experienced in half-a-dozen different aircraft equipped with Aspen - again, just my experience. You may find otherwise, but I'm well pleased with the G5 and particularly with the integration and information shared between the 540 and the G5's - bi-directionally. As mentioned elsewhere, the GAD29 is required to receive NAV data from the IFD 540, or the GNS 530, for that matter. GPS Navigator Data is passed over the CAN bus, which is handled by the GAD29.

Some of the neat things I've observed - Airspeed and altitude are passed to the 540 so that calculation of winds aloft can be done more easily; heading, track, desired track, target/selected altitude, and Vspeeds information is shown on the EFIS; both EFIS and HSI display vertical and horizontal deviation (course and GS/GP); HSI autoslews the GPS course pointer; MSG annunciation on the HSI; bearing to GPS/VOR can be shown on the HSI. One may wish to view the G5 Pilot Guide to see details and examples (google for G5 pilot guide).
Back to Top
jwjenks View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Aug 2013
Location: N14 New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 45
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jwjenks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2017 at 11:20am
I just installed a G5 in my C172 to replace my AI.  Actually just moved vacuum AI over to the copilot side.   It gets GPS data from my IFD550 by way of RS232.  Works perfectly.  4 wires;  RS232, equipment ground, airframe ground, and plus 14V.  $1500 installation cost.
At the same time put in a new Trio Autopilot.  Lateral good (just follows the magenta line!), debugging Vertical.
JWJ
Back to Top
TogaDriver View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 113
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TogaDriver Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2017 at 11:12am
Hi AVI Folks,

In order to reclaim that extra ARINC 429 port, Garmin plans to combine their EFIS/AIRDATA and GAD42 outputs into one stream so their GAD29B will only require one 429-IN port instead of two to drive our legacy autopilots.

Does AVI have plans to create a similar concentrated ARINC output option for the IFDs?  Due to the compatible nature of the IFD series, you have the same 429 port limitations.  I understand the G5 is not your product but I think the G5/GAD29B may be causing customers to consider the GTN series over IFDs for just this feature, based on chatter I'm seeing on Beech and elsewhere.  Supporting this would maintain your argument of plug-n-play with the GNS series. 

Back to Top
jonesronc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 May 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jonesronc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 6:41pm
I'm considering going the dual G5 route with G29B to replace my vacuum AI/NSD-360 HSI/ wet pump, at least once the promised 10.2+ software upgrade goes thru. I have an IFD540 & Stec 55x.   But so far, I haven't seen any for sure evidence the G5 HSI provides glideslope/ vertical guidance. Does anybody know for sure it does? Thx!
Back to Top
oskrypuch View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2012
Location: CYFD
Status: Offline
Points: 2077
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oskrypuch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 9:25pm
Originally posted by jonesronc jonesronc wrote:

I'm considering going the dual G5 route with G29B to replace my vacuum AI/NSD-360 HSI/ wet pump, ...

I think you would be much better served going ASPEN Pro. The cost is not much more, but you get so much more, including first rate intercompatibility with your 55x, and the IFD.

The G5s are OK, if you want to replace either DG or AI, but if you are looking to replace both, it would be my advice to look elsewhere.

* Orest

Back to Top
jonesronc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 May 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jonesronc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 9:08am
The Aspen as I recall requires a backup AI, negating removal of the vacuum system. My older C180 doesn't have a std 6-pack configuration. Adopting same requires field approval/STC conversion to a U-Yoke from the T-yoke; major work/$. If I went Aspen as currenly configured, The Aspen would go where the ASI/TC is and the AI or AS would go way at the bottom. The dual G5 wouldn't require any of that and save weight/oil on the bottom of the plane.
Back to Top
khuffine View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Dec 2015
Location: GSO
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote khuffine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 11:54pm
Just put dual G5 in my older Baron with century3. Even with gad29a had to keep old horizon for autopilot to use. Got rid of 106a and 3 pounds of cable to use Can bus and 429 port on the 440. Fly it tomorrow I and will let you know how it does but so far I like what I see. Flight plan in 440 sent info to both Dme indicators waiting to see how it flies. 9400$ out the door.
Khuffine
Back to Top
khuffine View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Dec 2015
Location: GSO
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote khuffine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 11:58pm
Just put dual G5 in my older Baron with century3. Even with gad29a had to keep old horizon for autopilot to use. Got rid of 106a and 3 pounds of cable to use Can bus and 429 port on the 440. Fly it tomorrow I and will let you know how it doees but so far I like what I see. Flight plan in 440 sent info to both Dme indicators waiting to see how it flies. 9400$ out the door.
Khuffine
Back to Top
khuffine View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Dec 2015
Location: GSO
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote khuffine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 2017 at 10:57pm
Flew the baron today with my 440 as nav for dual G5’s. No problems at all having to turn down pressure pumps since DG was removed. Gpss steering was super with century 3.   and 440 acted like a perfect 430 and all is well in my hangar. Wonderful combination. Hope the do a SV some day. I am satisfied for the future.
Khuffine
Back to Top
pburger View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 313
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pburger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Dec 2017 at 10:36pm
This thread was started on March 30, 2017, and here we are at the end of the year.  I'm glad to see reports that the IFDs are talking to the G5s.  That is indeed great news.  Now, AVIDYNE, how about working on this?  The G5s are getting a LOT of play from all quadrants.  I'm definitely leaning that way.  I would love to do a dual G5 installation early next year, but I don't want to get caught with an unairworthy installation due to a lack of an STC.  If Avidyne could list these babies in their manual similar to the Aspen, I assume the legal bar would be met.

Avidyne, what say you?
Back to Top
AviSimpson View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Location: Lincoln, MA
Status: Offline
Points: 760
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AviSimpson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 9:26am
Originally posted by pburger pburger wrote:

This thread was started on March 30, 2017, and here we are at the end of the year.  I'm glad to see reports that the IFDs are talking to the G5s.  That is indeed great news.  Now, AVIDYNE, how about working on this?  The G5s are getting a LOT of play from all quadrants.  I'm definitely leaning that way.  I would love to do a dual G5 installation early next year, but I don't want to get caught with an unairworthy installation due to a lack of an STC.  If Avidyne could list these babies in their manual similar to the Aspen, I assume the legal bar would be met.

Avidyne, what say you?

Still this "No update to share. It appears that it will just be a documentation exercise as part of a major release (TSO impacting). We will still need to fly it in our test aircraft to confirm that everything is functional."
Simpson Bennett
Avidyne Corporation
Product Manager
Back to Top
Flying_Monkey View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Mar 2017
Location: CA
Status: Offline
Points: 25
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flying_Monkey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Dec 2017 at 8:36pm
Originally posted by AviSimpson AviSimpson wrote:

Originally posted by pburger pburger wrote:

This thread was started on March 30, 2017, and here we are at the end of the year.  I'm glad to see reports that the IFDs are talking to the G5s.  That is indeed great news.  Now, AVIDYNE, how about working on this?  The G5s are getting a LOT of play from all quadrants.  I'm definitely leaning that way.  I would love to do a dual G5 installation early next year, but I don't want to get caught with an unairworthy installation due to a lack of an STC.  If Avidyne could list these babies in their manual similar to the Aspen, I assume the legal bar would be met.

Avidyne, what say you?

Still this "No update to share. It appears that it will just be a documentation exercise as part of a major release (TSO impacting). We will still need to fly it in our test aircraft to confirm that everything is functional."

Thanks for the update.  It's frustrating that this is taking so long if it really is just a documentation thing, but I guess this is probably quick in the aviation world.  I recently installed a 540 as part of a PA32-300 renovation that started before the G5s were announced.  Would have liked to maybe do dual G5s at the same time as everything else but was left in limbo since there has been no real updates. I have thought many times since the purchase that maybe I should have gone the Garmin route for compatibility with G5 and now the GFC500.  I guess I'll hold off and maybe wait for Dynon's offering next year.  But I imagine Avidyne is probably losing some sales to folks figuring that they want G5s and the GFC500 and not wanting to wait to see if Avidyne will be compatible/legal...especially if it is going to be an extended wait like we are experiencing with the G5s.  Guess I'm just venting.  I'm sure Avidyne is feeling the pressure to get this sorted out.
Back to Top
M20J View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Nov 2015
Location: CZBA
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M20J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Dec 2017 at 8:48pm
Originally posted by Flying_Monkey Flying_Monkey wrote:

Originally posted by AviSimpson AviSimpson wrote:

Originally posted by pburger pburger wrote:

This thread was started on March 30, 2017, and here we are at the end of the year.  I'm glad to see reports that the IFDs are talking to the G5s.  That is indeed great news.  Now, AVIDYNE, how about working on this?  The G5s are getting a LOT of play from all quadrants.  I'm definitely leaning that way.  I would love to do a dual G5 installation early next year, but I don't want to get caught with an unairworthy installation due to a lack of an STC.  If Avidyne could list these babies in their manual similar to the Aspen, I assume the legal bar would be met.

Avidyne, what say you?

Still this "No update to share. It appears that it will just be a documentation exercise as part of a major release (TSO impacting). We will still need to fly it in our test aircraft to confirm that everything is functional."

Thanks for the update.  It's frustrating that this is taking so long if it really is just a documentation thing, but I guess this is probably quick in the aviation world.  I recently installed a 540 as part of a PA32-300 renovation that started before the G5s were announced.  Would have liked to maybe do dual G5s at the same time as everything else but was left in limbo since there has been no real updates. I have thought many times since the purchase that maybe I should have gone the Garmin route for compatibility with G5 and now the GFC500.  I guess I'll hold off and maybe wait for Dynon's offering next year.  But I imagine Avidyne is probably losing some sales to folks figuring that they want G5s and the GFC500 and not wanting to wait to see if Avidyne will be compatible/legal...especially if it is going to be an extended wait like we are experiencing with the G5s.  Guess I'm just venting.  I'm sure Avidyne is feeling the pressure to get this sorted out.

+1
Back to Top
DavidBunin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 May 2015
Location: Rockwall, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 682
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidBunin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2017 at 3:28pm
Originally posted by Flying_Monkey Flying_Monkey wrote:

Originally posted by AviSimpson AviSimpson wrote:

Originally posted by pburger pburger wrote:

I'm glad to see reports that the IFDs are talking to the G5s.  That is indeed great news.
It appears that it will just be a documentation exercise as part of a major release (TSO impacting). We will still need to fly it in our test aircraft to confirm that everything is functional.
 It's frustrating that this is taking so long if it really is just a documentation thing.


Just a documentation thing?  That's not what I understood there.  It is an extra layer of documentation that may come as part of a major release.  Those don't happen quickly.

Also, "still need to fly it" tells me that their test airplane is not yet flying with a G5 installed.  Not surprising since I doubt their test airplane spends as much time as most of ours do sitting idle in a hangar.  Test aircraft generally have busy flight schedules and rigid maintenance/modification schedules.  They can't just deck the plane for modification each time a competitor invents a new piece of equipment.

To quote Heinlein, "Waiting is."

Back to Top
Ibraham View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 21 May 2016
Location: KHWO
Status: Offline
Points: 116
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ibraham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2017 at 5:49pm
Avidyne has been working for over 3 years on having the Avidyne MLB100 (Now Skytrax 100) display ADS-B traffic and weather on the the Avidyne EX5000 MFD. I hope they complete that project before they start working on some new non Avidyne competitor equipment.
Tired of "waiting"!
Back to Top
compasst View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 22 Feb 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 69
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote compasst Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Dec 2017 at 6:49am
On Dec 19, Garmin released new software (version 5) and installation documentation (version 11) for the G5 EFI. Included in this release is new software for the GMU 11 magnetometer (version 2) and the GAD 29 GPS/Navigation interface adapter (version 3). 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.