Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Entegra Release 9 > Entegra Release 9 General Information
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ICAO Equipment Codes
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

ICAO Equipment Codes

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
rdawson View Drop Down
Release 9 Insiders
Release 9 Insiders
Avatar

Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Location: Daytona Beach
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rdawson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ICAO Equipment Codes
    Posted: 04 Mar 2015 at 4:02pm
Has Avidyne determined the proper equipment codes for a standard Cirrus R9 installation with the remote Becker Transponder?
Back to Top
AviJake View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Location: Lincoln MA
Status: Offline
Points: 2815
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AviJake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Mar 2015 at 7:53pm
Short answer = Beats me.

Longer answer = I need to go do some homework.  It's been too long and I don't recall what the answer is but we'll dig into it.
Steve Jacobson
sjacobson@avidyne.com
Back to Top
Stefan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Dec 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stefan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 5:16am
Hi Steve

same question as above, just relating to an Extra500 installation with Becker Transponder. Need the proper ICAO equipment codes please, many thanks

Blue skies, Stefan


Back to Top
Kentucky Captain View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Mar 2015
Location: KBRY
Status: Offline
Points: 58
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kentucky Captain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 12:03am
I asked this question last summer and got no reply at all.  Garmin publishes all of the ICAO codes that you should be using in Foreflight for an ICAO flight plan.  Why can't Avidyne?  I have been filing ICAO flight plans for a while now but am only guessing at some of the codes in Foreflight.  Now that mandatory ICAO filing is becoming the reality, we need to know.  I have the IFD540, AXP340, and will have the MLB100 when 10.2 comes out.  How about it Avidyne?
Back to Top
Ibraham View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 21 May 2016
Location: KHWO
Status: Offline
Points: 72
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ibraham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 1:25am

For Aircraft equipment, IFD 540 will qualify for SBG
S (VOR, VHF, ILS)
B (LPV)
G (GNSS)

For Surveillance equipment, AXP340 with verified ADS-B out use EB1
E (Mode S, ID, ALT and Squitter)
B1 (Dedicated 1090 MHZ out)

There is no requirement or entry for ADS-B in for the MLB100

Hope this helps, please verify for accuracy
Back to Top
chflyer View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Location: LSZK
Status: Offline
Points: 402
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chflyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 3:40am
The ICAO form is applied differently around the world and the necessary info also depends on the altitude you fly (e.g. RVSM). What you can code and what you must code as a minimum will vary. In that respect there is no one answer that Avidyne could give.

In the lower altitudes in the USA, there are really only a few that most pilots need. ICAO recommends listing as much information as possible, but that is probably asking for trouble and I suggest avoiding R unless you really have a special need since that opens a can of worms in the PBN note of the remarks section (other info). R is performance-related not equipment directly so can vary considerably depending on the installation and approvals.

In the USA, I agree with Ibraham's suggestion for nav/com although I don't think the FAA cares about approach capability, so the B is not necessary. Consider yourselves lucky.

In Europe, SG also works for VFR flight plans although the IFD 540 should be configured for 8.33kHz and Y added because it will be mandatory in all controlled airspace by the end of 2017.

Eurocontrol (the agency in Europe handling IFR flight plans) requires PBN for flights under their jurisdiction. Based on the approvals listed in the IFD 540 AFM, I code R and PBN/A1B2C2D2L1O2S1 in the remarks section.

Vince
Back to Top
chflyer View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Location: LSZK
Status: Offline
Points: 402
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chflyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 3:45am
P.S. I suspect the same applies to the Entegra Release 9 (this forum), but don't have the AFM info for one of those.
Vince
Back to Top
Catani View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 21 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 117
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Catani Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 5:01am
There's several ways to do this, and Avidyne can't give you the codes unless you are a pure Avidyne panel.  One of the easiest ways to get it done is to use www.fltplan.com and register for free.  Then go down to Settings along the left hand side, and select "A/C ICAO data."  You tell them what you have, they supply the codes.  They also have a fairly detailed explanation of what all the codes mean.  I have an IFD440, a Lynx 9000 with 1090 in and out, and these are my codes:

Item 10 Equipment: SBGRZ/EB2
Item 18 Other Info: PBN/B2C2D2   NAV/SBAS SUR/260B  CODE/XXXX

The code/xxxxx actually has my ADS-B ID, which you get from the FAA for your aircraft.  Fltplan.com tells you how.  Item 10: SBGRZ works for any IFD box.  The EB2 depends upon your ADS-B equipment, EB2 is for my Lynx.  Item 18: The PBN codes are for any IFD box, as is NAV/SBAS.  The SUR code depends upon your ADS-B box.

It's not difficult to go through fltplan.com's process.  Not a bad flight planner either, by the way.  It takes detailed performance data for your plane and uses that to provide accurate with fuel burns for the flight plans you enter.

Back to Top
Craig767 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Dec 2014
Location: Gainesville, FL
Status: Offline
Points: 78
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Craig767 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 11:24am
Originally posted by Catani Catani wrote:

There's several ways to do this, and Avidyne can't give you the codes unless you are a pure Avidyne panel.  One of the easiest ways to get it done is to use www.fltplan.com and register for free.  Then go down to Settings along the left hand side, and select "A/C ICAO data."  You tell them what you have, they supply the codes.  They also have a fairly detailed explanation of what all the codes mean.  I have an IFD440, a Lynx 9000 with 1090 in and out, and these are my codes:

Item 10 Equipment: SBGRZ/EB2
Item 18 Other Info: PBN/B2C2D2   NAV/SBAS SUR/260B  CODE/XXXX

The code/xxxxx actually has my ADS-B ID, which you get from the FAA for your aircraft.  Fltplan.com tells you how.  Item 10: SBGRZ works for any IFD box.  The EB2 depends upon your ADS-B equipment, EB2 is for my Lynx.  Item 18: The PBN codes are for any IFD box, as is NAV/SBAS.  The SUR code depends upon your ADS-B box.

It's not difficult to go through fltplan.com's process.  Not a bad flight planner either, by the way.  It takes detailed performance data for your plane and uses that to provide accurate with fuel burns for the flight plans you enter.


Would not A1-RNP10 and L1-RNP4 be included in PNB per the IFD-540 Pilot Guide
 


Back to Top
Craig767 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Dec 2014
Location: Gainesville, FL
Status: Offline
Points: 78
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Craig767 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 11:30am
Never mind see you may need a second source nav capability to meet availability requirements.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.