Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Avidyne General > SkyTrax Series ADS-B Receivers & Transceivers
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - SkyTrax FAQ's
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

SkyTrax FAQ's

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
petersk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Location: Illinois
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote petersk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2016 at 11:28pm
Followup on the MLB100 GPS interference issue... I added an external GPS antenna to the Aera so I could 'sniff' for interference around the panel. There is a circle of 12 inch radius around the MLB100 where the GPS signal goes to zero and a slightly larger circle where the signal is degraded. Pulling the MLB100 breaker stops the GPS blanking effect.

I'm wondering if there is a GPS chip on board the MLB100 and by chance does the Avidyne software turn on that GPS? The case seems to have two BNC connectors and one appears to be capped... I wonder if there's a signal coming from that capped port?

While things are as they are, my wire free panel will unfortunately have at least one visible wire, to the deck top remote antenna to keep that thing working.
Keith Peterson
Cardinal Flyers
Cardinal RG N177KP
Back to Top
teeth6 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 10 Mar 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 305
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teeth6 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Mar 2016 at 10:07am
Originally posted by Risky52 Risky52 wrote:

I have just had my MLB-100 connected to the IFD-540 with 10.1.1 and 4.09 (MLB-100) software updates. Initial flight has ghosting right under the aircraft which keeps the Aux button yellow since this other(ghost) aircraft is so  close. I see the same thing on my IPAD with Foreflight. 

Is anyone else having a similar ghosting situation and is there a way to get rid of the ghost aircraft. 


Thanks in advance


I have seen this on just one flight since my MLB 100 was installed.  It lasted the entire flight but was gone on the next flight.  I used to occasionally see this on my old TIS traffic when turning but it would only last a few seconds then.
Back to Top
kgrant View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Dec 2015
Location: Bolivar, MO
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kgrant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2016 at 8:18am
Any word on timing for the 200?
Back to Top
DavidBunin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 May 2015
Location: Rockwall, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 555
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidBunin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2016 at 11:22am
Originally posted by petersk petersk wrote:

I'm wondering if there is a GPS chip on board the MLB100 and by chance does the Avidyne software turn on that GPS? The case seems to have two BNC connectors and one appears to be capped... I wonder if there's a signal coming from that capped port?


I can't say why you would be having this specific issue (I have an MLB unit in my airplane and two Garmin portables that don't seem to mind) but just as a logical reasoning exercise...

The MLB100 gets its GPS position from the IFD.  So if there is a GPS chip inside, it stands to reason that Avidyne software would be turning it off, not on.

Beyond that, GPS chips usually output a DC power level to supply a pre-amplifier that resides within the antenna, but they don't actually transmit a GPS signal.  So there is no signal that would be coming from that capped connector.  (If you took the connector off, you might see a DC bias there at the center pin, if the unit does have a chip.)

Bottom line: This theory has a lot of IF upon IF.  While the MLB100 may indeed be the source of your symptoms, I don't think it's for the reason or method that you postulate.

David Bunin
Back to Top
DavidBunin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 May 2015
Location: Rockwall, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 555
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidBunin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2016 at 8:23am
I am thrilled to report that I met Petersk at the Sun 'n Fun airshow in Florida.  He said they replaced his MLB100 with another unit and the problem vanished.  So there is no inherent design flaw with the product, there was simply some defect in his specific unit.
 
My guess is that one of the RF shields on the circuit board was not tight or not on straight.  Probably an easy thing to fix if we had access to the insides of these things.
Back to Top
chflyer View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Location: LSZK
Status: Offline
Points: 388
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote chflyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2016 at 12:55pm
According to petersk's post on Mar 29, the issue arose immediately upon installation of the MLB100, which suggests that the problem existed when unit left the factory. When my new IFD440 arrived, it needed to be returned even before installation because the lower left knob did not work.

This is perhaps a long stretch statement from just 2 units that wouldn't pass QC on arrival at the customer, but I wonder how many other issues are related to QC. I suppose that Avidyne tracks this, but perhaps it is an area for them to take a look as for possible improvement?

QC issues with new units leaving the factory are expensive all around, but especially for Avidyne due to unrecoverable RMA handling and shipping costs, not to mention image and installer/customer impact (costs, delays) of a faulty new unit from the factory.


Vince
Back to Top
DavidBunin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 May 2015
Location: Rockwall, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 555
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidBunin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Apr 2016 at 2:38pm
I see what you're saying, but I don't know if your theory has much in the way of legs to stand on.  For one thing, the MLB units are manufactured in a completely different facility than the IFD units. And the fault in Petersk's unit could have been damage unduced in shipping due to harsh handling.  We will never know.

In any case, I can't say that two points of data are a trend.

My IFD and my MLB arrived in flawless condition.
Back to Top
petersk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Location: Illinois
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote petersk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2016 at 4:42pm
Did you really meet me, David? If so I'm glad you were thrilled!

However, you are incorrect in your understanding that my MLB100 was replaced. My receiver was not replaced, I solved the GPS interference problem by using an external GPS antenna on my Aera. I would not expect a new MLB100 to resolve the issue.

My understanding remains that the MLB100 wiring transmits a GPS interference signal which will blank out any nearby GPS unless you shield the wiring and perhaps trap the RF signal with a ferrite core of some sort. I have not tried that solution... my wires are bundled up pretty tightly so I'm still using the remote antenna, but that's the theory.

I would expect this to be an issue with any MLB100 until they choose to add some internal shielding.

Keith Peterson
Cardinal Flyers

Keith Peterson
Cardinal Flyers
Cardinal RG N177KP
Back to Top
DavidBunin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 May 2015
Location: Rockwall, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 555
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidBunin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2016 at 4:06pm
Must have been an impostor.  :(

Back to Top
Kentucky Captain View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Mar 2015
Location: KBRY
Status: Offline
Points: 45
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kentucky Captain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2017 at 8:04pm
I have been anxiously awaiting the arrival of the 10.2 update like everyone else. 

When I did my panel install, the MLB100, now the SkyTrax100 was not certified, so I had the wiring run for when it did become available.  The rest of the panel consisted of:
IFD540
AXP340
Aspen EFD1000 Pro
STec System 30 Autopilot
PSE PMA450 Audio panel
Garmin GNC255A Nav/Com
JPI EDM900 engine monitor

Unfortunately we found out the the initial wiring diagram for the MLB100 was incorrect.  Avidyne did pay to rewire it while I was having 10.1.2 installed.

Now that 10.2 is out, I am trying to schedule installation for it and the SkyTrax100.

My questions now with 10.2 in mind are:

Will all of the data from the SkyTrax100 be displayed on the IFD?

Can I get that same data on my Aspen PFD?  Once my flight plan or approach is loaded in the IFD, I rarely look at the IFD.  Course guidance and a map underlay are available on the Aspen.

Will there be aural traffic alerts derived from the SkyTrax100 on the IFD?  If so, do I need any additional wiring from any of the equipment to the audio panel?  Initially I was missing a connection from the IFD to the audio panel for the 500 foot call out.  Works now.

Thanks,
Spending my kid's inheritance, one upgrade at a time.
Back to Top
mkellock View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Feb 2015
Location: Tampa, FL
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mkellock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 11:53am
Originally posted by Kentucky Captain Kentucky Captain wrote:

I have been anxiously awaiting the arrival of the 10.2 update like everyone else. 

When I did my panel install, the MLB100, now the SkyTrax100 was not certified, so I had the wiring run for when it did become available.  The rest of the panel consisted of:
IFD540
AXP340
Aspen EFD1000 Pro
STec System 30 Autopilot
PSE PMA450 Audio panel
Garmin GNC255A Nav/Com
JPI EDM900 engine monitor

Unfortunately we found out the the initial wiring diagram for the MLB100 was incorrect.  Avidyne did pay to rewire it while I was having 10.1.2 installed.

Now that 10.2 is out, I am trying to schedule installation for it and the SkyTrax100.

My questions now with 10.2 in mind are:

Will all of the data from the SkyTrax100 be displayed on the IFD?

Can I get that same data on my Aspen PFD?  Once my flight plan or approach is loaded in the IFD, I rarely look at the IFD.  Course guidance and a map underlay are available on the Aspen.

Will there be aural traffic alerts derived from the SkyTrax100 on the IFD?  If so, do I need any additional wiring from any of the equipment to the audio panel?  Initially I was missing a connection from the IFD to the audio panel for the 500 foot call out.  Works now.

Thanks,

Thanks for this post. I look forward to hearing the answer to some of these questions. We had the MLB100 (now SkyTrax100) prewired back in 2015 before the unit was available for install similar to you. I am finally getting it installed this week, and may encounter a similar problem with the wiring. 
Piper Archer II
PA28-181
Tampa, FL
Back to Top
Kentucky Captain View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Mar 2015
Location: KBRY
Status: Offline
Points: 45
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kentucky Captain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 6:28pm
Found out today that there has to be a converter inline between either the IFD or SkyTrax and the Aspen.  Still don't know if Aspen will want a ransom to allow the ADS-B data to display on the Aspen EFIS.  Hope not.

They also said that Aspen is still charging $2K for the AOA update to the EFIS.  I understand that Aspen needs to recoup it's development costs and make a profit, but come on, two grand for a software update that they don't even have to physically do?  That's just absurd.  If it was $400, I would jump on it and maybe a lot of other pilots too, but $2K, ridiculous, not going to happen.

I love the Aspen EFIS and the way it works.  Fabulous with the IFD540 and the STec30 as  a single pilot platform, but Aspen needs to rethink their unlock fee program.  Totally out of line.  It is definitely affecting my desire for additional Aspen displays.
Spending my kid's inheritance, one upgrade at a time.
Back to Top
ddgates View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Location: Deer Valley
Status: Offline
Points: 735
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ddgates Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 6:38pm
Not definitive.  The below is my experience.

Aspen told me that the ADS-B unlock for the MFD would be $795.  BUT - I don't know if you already have the the "hazard unlock".  I did for active traffic.

The hook is that nobody can tell you that the MLB100 wx will play on the Aspen MFD.  I have heard it was tried and DOES NOT, Capstone or no Capstone.  Nothing official on this, mind you.

One of Aspen's service engineers told me officially, the following devices play ADS-B on the Aspen MFD, x, y, z, but no Avidyne product.

I have active traffic playing on the PFD and MFD, I do believe the "hazard unlock" which IIRC was also $795 covered this, but active traffic may be different than ADS-B or TIS-B.

I'd really like to have wx on the MFD, I have lobbied both Avidyne and Aspen in this regard, and there doesn't seem to be any movement or interest in this.

EDIT:  I have AOA in the form of the Alphasystems Eagle product; it has sensor and converter box, and at the end of the project I probably had ~$2700 in it, just for price reference.




Edited by ddgates - 13 Mar 2017 at 6:41pm
David Gates
Back to Top
Kentucky Captain View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Mar 2015
Location: KBRY
Status: Offline
Points: 45
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kentucky Captain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 7:00pm
In that case, I 'm not sure how much use I'll get out of installing the SkyTrax100.  The IFD is center stack mounted and I fly mainly off of the Aspen.

I have two iPads running Foreflight along with a Stratus2.  I can already look to my iPad for Wx and traffic, why do I want to have to look to the center stack to see the same.

The only advantage seems to be that when the IFD100 comes out, I will be able to see Wx and traffic there.  I use my iPad mostly for approach plates when in the terminal environment.  My wife has her own iPad and looks for traffic and Wx.  Don't know where I would fit another tablet although I do have a third one, a mini for backup.

I have RAM ball mounts in all four corners of my panel.  In the pic below, the left iPad is a mini but has since been replaced with a iPad Pro 9.7".  The 9.7" iPads are mounted to the top ones with long arms.  I could possibly mount the mini on the bottom mount with a short arm.  That should position the mini immediately to the left of the Aspen.  Sounds like an interesting experiment.




Edited by Kentucky Captain - 13 Mar 2017 at 7:02pm
Spending my kid's inheritance, one upgrade at a time.
Back to Top
ddgates View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Location: Deer Valley
Status: Offline
Points: 735
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ddgates Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 7:15pm
The plus, though, is that with an MLB you will see traffic and wx on the IFD; the value I see in this though is being able to look ahead at METARS for whevever you are going.

I haven't seen how it looks on 10.2, but on 10.1.x, the representation is nice for both, and I understand it is better with more products being displayed with 10.2.

EDIT:  No diss intended, really, I just personally like the noncluttered approach.  BWTHDIK?


Edited by ddgates - 13 Mar 2017 at 7:16pm
David Gates
Back to Top
Kentucky Captain View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Mar 2015
Location: KBRY
Status: Offline
Points: 45
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kentucky Captain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 7:25pm
We'll see how it works out.  My bird is supposed to go under the knife next week.

For what it's worth,  I already see METARS on Foreflight.
Spending my kid's inheritance, one upgrade at a time.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.